Further accessibility improvement suggestions #19
Labels
No labels
accessibility
bug
Doing
duplicate
enhancement
good first issue
help wanted
invalid
Query
question
To Do
usability
wontfix
No milestone
No project
No assignees
1 participant
Notifications
Due date
No due date set.
Dependencies
No dependencies set
Reference
OERF/register-enrol#19
Loading…
Reference in a new issue
No description provided.
Delete branch "%!s()"
Deleting a branch is permanent. Although the deleted branch may continue to exist for a short time before it actually gets removed, it CANNOT be undone in most cases. Continue?
Many thanks to Greg Gay (from Ryerson) for his very useful feedback and guidance!
For the inline red error messages, add a role="alert" to the elements containing the messages. This will force screen readers to read them when they appear, without having to go looking for the messages.
For the X button to close the registration, welcome, update password, and login dialogs, add a text label "close". An aria-label="close" would work for this purpose, added to the button markup. They currently announce as "button".
The success dialog that opens after logging in, opens briefly, but then disappears before I, with vision, can read the message or get to the OK button, and the screen reader does not seem to notice that dialog. It does not block logging in with the screen reader, but it would make it more difficult to tell whether the login was successful.
Optionally you could include a success dialog/message after logging out.
I did not go through a full registration, to see what happens after. But, maybe extrapolate from the above and apply that to whatever happens after successfully (or not) registering.
assigned to @dave
I have addressed 1 and 2 (adding 'role="alert"' to red error messages, and I've added the 'aria-label'='close' and also 'title'='Close' just for good measure to the close button (X)...
The behaviour of 3 is a tricky one - when the login and log out happen, they trigger a reload of the page, removing any existing dialog window... the dialogs signalling that the login was successful doesn't really require user acknowledgement, but if they're on a very slow computer or network, it gives them the option of doing so, removing the dialog until the reload completes.
I haven't done 4 because the 'logout' removes the workflow from the plugin's control... I thought that the telltale login prompt that returns to the screen with the reload, showing the user that they are no longer logged in, would be sufficient feedback...
mentioned in commit
f5038f6a9b